Angus Fyffe triumphs at the McCann Cup

Thursday, 9 March 2017

THE sun was shining in Omagh on Sunday for the 15th annual McCann Cup, with 267 riders turning out for a day of racing covering laps of the Seskinore circuit.
First off were the masters with close to 40 riders fighting for top three places and covering three laps. Mickey Gallen of Omagh Wheelers set the pace early on and this was maintained for the duration. The final results were:
1st Michael Toal (Phoenix); 2nd James McCusker (Shelbourne/Orchard) Wheelers; 3rd Tom Henry (NDCC)
Women's race
The women's race followed with 12 competitors taking part, also completing three laps. Results were: 1st Christen O'Neill (Velo Cafe Magasin); 2nd Laura Blair (Ballymena Road Club); 3rd Meta Johnston (Team Madigan)
That concluded the morning races, and the afternoon races consisted of a full field of 77 A4 riders (completing 4 laps), 78 A3 and Juniors (completing six laps), and the A1/A2 field of 60 riders over seven laps.
A4 race
The A4 race stayed together for the duration, with one spill coming up to the finish. Results were: 1. Neil Rafferty (Armagh CC); 2. Shea Gribbon (Carn Wheelers); 3. Stephen McCay (SLCC); 4. Gary Lyons (Armagh CC); 5. Niall McElhinney (Foyle CC); 6. Derek Ferguson (Kings Moss); 7. Nigel Gibson (Carn Wheelers); 8. Michael Boal (Team Madigan); 9. Michael O'Farrell (Longford CC); 10. Gordon Watt (ETCC)
A3 race
The A3 race covered six laps and the juniors were in battle from the gun. It was fair to say that Powerhouse Sport Junior team dominated throughout. PJ Doogan, Breandan Flanagan, Adam Ward, along with Conor Halvey from NRPT got away early on and stayed away until last lap, but it came down to a sprint finish with Harvey Barnes from East Tyrone taking the verdict. Results were: 1. Harvey Barnes (ETCC); 2. Liam Wilson (Powerhouse Sport); 3. Robbie Doherty (Ballymoney CC); 4. Sean McGarvey (Velo Cafe Magasin); 5. Ross Blayney (NDCC); 6. Adam Ward (Powerhouse Sport); 7. Michael McGlynn (Omagh Wheelers); 8. Stephen Daly (Termon Wheelers); 9. Andrew Hedley (Ards CC); 10. Richard Archer (ETCC)
A1/A2 race
Lining up then for the A1/A2 race was Angus Fyffe (Omagh Wheelers), Marcus Christie(Performance SBR), Gary Jeffers (ETCC), Ronan McLaughlin (Aquablue Sport), to name but a few.
The first lap saw five A1 riders swallow up the two minute handicap on the A2 riders, with Gary Jeffers and Marcus Christie setting a roaring pace from the start. Both men unfortunately succumbed to mechanicals in lap two. This group of five quickly became 11 by lap three, gaining close on three minutes on the main field by lap five.
Craig McAuley (Caldwell Cycles), Angus Fyffe (OWCC), Paul McCarter (DBCC), and Jude Sands (Newry Wheelers) maintained their lead to the end with Fyffe comfortably taking first place, followed by Craig McAuley (Caldwell Cycles), Paul McCarter (DBCC), and Jude Sands (Newry Wheelers).
Results were: 1st Angus Fyffe (Omagh Wheelers); 2nd Craig McAuley (Caldwell Cycles); 3rd Paul McCarter (Donegal Bay CC); 4th Jude Sands (Newry Wheelers); 5th Darnell Moore (Caldwell Cycles); 6th Dave Watson (Bikehouse CC); 7th Davy McFall (Omagh Wheelers); 8th Cameron McIntyre (AC Biscontine); 9th Ronan McLaughlin (Aquablue Sport); 10th Stevie McKenna (Omagh Wheelers).
An Omagh Wheelers spokesperson daid: "Thank you very much to all our marshals who helped out from our own club and neighbouring clubs. Without your help we could not the race to such a high standard.
"Thanks to our commissaires Kevin Hughes, Tommy McCague, Paul Devenney, and Francie Coyle, and our chief judge Ian Barfoot. Your help and guidance much appreciated as always
"Thanks to Martin Grainger and his team from Order of Malta for their expert assistance. Thanks to Joanne and team for refreshments at the race and to Ethna McGuigan and her team for a fantastic spread afterward. Thanks to Sorcha and her team at sign on, to Amanda McGale for organising marshals, and our team of sign 'putter-uppers', barrier placers, road sweepers, and all the other unseen jobs that make our events so professional.
"Last but not least, thank you to the organizing team of Hugh McCann, Seamus Keenan and Siobhan McGrath. This was the 15th edition of the McCann cup, starting out with 35 riders all those years ago."


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete