Ulster success for local riders at Fintona.

Thursday, 28 September 2017

Ulster success for local riders at Fintona. thumbnail Ulster Hill Climb Championships senior podium, Christopher Birney (3rd, Sportactive), Darnell Moore (1st, Caldwell Cycles), Lindsay Watson (2nd, Powerhouse Sport) and Patrick Withers (Race Director).

DROMORE rider Darnell Moore recorded the fastest time of the day to take the senior men's title at the 2017 Ulster Hill Climb Championships, hosted by Fintona Cycling Club on Sunday.

Caldwell Cycles clubman Moore came in ahead of Lindsay Watson (Powerhouse Sport) in second and Christopher Birney (Sportactive) in third on a route that took the riders from Fintona to the summit of Sionfinn, a tough 4.5 miles test against the clock.

There was further success for local riders as StruleWheelers' Julie Mulligan won the women's gold medal, while Fintona CC's Barry McKenna gave the home club something to cheer when he took the silver medal in the masters (over 40) category behind Carn Wheelers' member, Ali Gribbon. The bronze was lifted by Sean Hargan (Phoenix CC).

Ethan Downey (Clann Éireann CC) added to his recent All Ireland junior road race title by lifting the Ulster junior hill climb title.

Speaking about hosting the event, Fintona CC secretary Patrick Withers said: "It was a great occasion for the club to host an Ulster Championship event and the club even managed to add to our Ulster Championship medal tally thanks to Drumquin man, Barry McKenna taking silver in the masters category.

"Next year we are celebrating our 50th anniversary and while we're a reasonably small club,we have a very proud history of winning Ulster and All Ireland medals, had riders represent Ulster and Ireland as well as organising many charity, leisure, racing and social events.

We are looking forward to marking our many achievements and adding to them in 2018."

Ulster Hill Climb Championships results

Senior Men: 1. Darnell Moore (Caldwell Cycles); 2. Lindsay Watson (Powerhouse Sport); 3. Christopher Birney (Sportactive)

Junior Men: 1. Ethan Downey (Clann Éireann CC); 2. Donal Shearer (Phoenix CC); 3. Jack Ferguson (Dromara CC)

Masters Men: 1. Ali Gribbon (Carn Wheelers); 2. Barry McKenna (Fintona CC); 3. Sean Hargan (Phoenix CC)

Women: 1. Julie Mulligan (Strule Whellerss)


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete