Fermanagh and Western teams of the year selected

Thursday, 25 May 2017

LOCAL club players received the plaudits at the Fermanagh and Western Football League end of season awards night at the Killyhevlin Hotel, Enniskillen, last week.

Treble winners Strathroy harps had four representatives on the Division One Team Of The Year, while three Killen Rangers players earned their place on the selection.

Mountjoy United were awarded four spots on the Division Two Team Of The Year after their league-winning season, with two Dunbreen Rovers players and one Dergview Reserves man making the team.

In the Division Three eleven, there were five recipients from promoted Ardstraw Reserves, with one player each from title-winning Fintona Swifts and Ballygawley.

However, despite Tyrone clubs winning five of the six adult leagues, Kennedy and Mulhern Cups, and as the Lowry-Corry Cup, Fermanagh players took home individual honours, with Lisbellaw's Kyle McCleery and Andrew Elliott from Orchard Farm winning the top player gong in Divisions One and Three respectively. Glebe United's Eamon McGrath won the Division two player of the year.

Joseph Williamson from Magheraveely was voted Young Player Of The Year, while the referee's honours went to Kesh's Nicky Noble, and Brookeborough's Pat Greene for Young Referee Of The Year.

Division One Team Of The Year

David Ward (Killen Rangers); Darren Long (Killen Rangers), Jonathan O'Malley (Magheraveely), Benny Boyle (Strathroy Harps), Sean McCrory (Strathroy Harps); Graham Young (Killen Rangers), Kyle McCleery (Lisbellaw United), Kevin Sloan (Strathroy Harps); Frank Wallace (Enniskillen Town United), Lee Walker (NFC Kesh), Adrian McCaffrey (Strathroy Harps).

Division One Team Of The Year

Alan Buchanan (Dergview Reserves); Caolan O'Donnell (Dunbreen Rovers), Derard Elliott (Glebe United), David Longs (Mountjoy United), David Dickson (Mountjoy United); Eamon McGrath (Glebe United), Warren Murphy (Maguiresbridge), Lee Frazer (Mountjoy United); Michael McMenamin (Dunbreen Rovers), Brian McDermott (Lisnaskea Rovers, David Baxter (Mountjoy United).

Division One Team Of The Year

James Baxter (Ardstraw Reserves); Christopher Gourley (Ardstraw Reserves), Mark Sharkey (Fintona Swifts), Andrew Elliott (Orchard Farm), Stewart Armstrong (Orchard Farm); Nathan Quigley (Ardstraw Reserves), Clive Boyle (Ardstraw Reserves), Gavin McGinn (Enniskillen Galaxy); Ian Hill (Ardstraw Reserves), Ryan Finch (Enniskillen Athletic), Cathal Corrigan (Ballygawley)

Individual awards

Division One Player Of The Year: Kyle McCleery (Lisbellaw United)

Division Two Player Of The Year: Eamon McGrath (Glebe United)

Division Three Player Of The Year: Andrew Elliott (Orchard Farm)

Young Player Of The Year: Joseph Williamson (Magheraveely)

Referee Of The Year: Nicky Noble (Kesh)

Young Referee Of The Year: Pat Greene (Brookeborough)


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete