Tyrone book All-Ireland U17 final

Thursday, 17 August 2017

TYRONE are bound for Croke Park for the All-Ireland U17 Football Championship final, following their impressive win over Meath at Kingspan Breffni.



The Red Hand youngsters proved too strong for their Leinster opponents as they strode to a seven points success, setting up a title decider against Roscommon on August 27.

And they will share a bill with the county's senior team, who take on champions Dublin in the All-Ireland semi-final later in the afternoon.

The Ulster champions grabbed just one goal, but it could have been five, with a combination of missed opportunities and excellent saves depriving them of an even greater winning margin. Ethan Jordan scored the only goal of the game to help Tyrone to a four points interval lead, and after surviving a Meath revival after the restart, they pushed on in the final quarter to win with plenty to spare.

Darragh Canavan opened the scoring with a superb effort in the fourth minute, and they doubled the lead in the ninth minute when Daniel Miller won the free that Cormac Donaghy converted.

At the back, Tyrone were solid and well organised, forcing a series of turnovers, through Tarlach Quinn, skipper Cormac Munroe and Miller.

And in the 11th minute they got in for a goal. Joe Oguz drove a long ball towards Cormac Donnelly, who crossed for Ethan Jordan to palm to the net.

They almost had a second goal soon afterwards, when Donnelly fired in a shot which 'keeper Lee Browne deflected against a post.

It wasn't until the 16th minute that the Leinster champions opened their account, when Jordan Morris slotted over a point, but the Ulster champions were soon back on the attack, and impressive midfielder Oguz swapped pass with Thomas Hoy before sending over a point.

Jordan followed up with a brilliant score, and Tyrone led by six with less than 20 minutes played.

There was another goal opportunity when Canavan picked out Cormac Donaghy, but his cross aimed at Donnelly was cut out by 'keeper Browne.

Shane Walsh converted a Meath free, but the Red Hands responded again, with Donnelly sending Hoy in for a score, making it 1-5 to 0-2 with ten minutes to play in the half.

But Meath hit three of the remaining four points of the half. Patrick Matthews, Morris, with a free, and Aaron Lynch were on target, with Tyrone's only reply coming from Hoy.

The Red Hands led by 1-6 to 0-5 at the break, and created another goal chance immediately after the restart, but Ruairi Slane sent a low shot just wide at the far post.

But Meath were growing stronger, with the wind now in their backs, and they chipped away at the deficit with scores from Morris, who converted two frees, and skipper Liam Byrne, with a huge free from all of 60 metres.

Tyrone were under pressure, but Canavan added another neat score, and the tide began to turn back in their favour.

Jordan converted a free, and Matthew Murnaghan palmed over a point following good approach work from Jordan and Hayes.

Oguz and substitute Ryan McCabe added further scores to give them a six points lead going into the final ten minutes.

Sean Ryan pulled back a Meath score, but Tyrone finished with another flourish, capping an impressive performance with late scores from Donnelly and Canavan.

Tyrone scorers: Ethan Jordan 1-2 (0-1 free), Darragh Canavan 0-3, Joe Oguz, Ryan McCabe, Thomas Hoy 0-2 each, Cormac Donnelly (1 free), Cormac Donaghy, Matthew Murnaghan 0-1 each.

Meath scorers: Jordan Morris 0-4 (3 frees), Shane Walsh 0-2 (2 frees), Aaron Lynch, Liam Byrne (free), Shane Ryan, Patrick Matthews 0-1 each.

Tyrone: Lorcan Quinn; Antoin Fox, Matthew McCusker, Conor Ward; Tarlach Quinn, Cormac Munroe, Ruairi Slane; Matthew Murnaghan, Joe Oguz; Cormac Donaghy, Darrragh Canavan, Daniel Miller; Ethan Jordan, Cormac Donnelly, Thomas Hoy.

Subs: Cormac Quinn for Ward, Mark Hayes for Donaghy, Ryan McCabe for Hoy, Ronan Hollywood for Slane, Liam Gray for Jordan, Kevin Barker for McCusker.

Meath: Lee Browne; Sean Bannon, Sean Ryan, Michael Gavin; Oran Smullan, Liam Byrne, Conal Courtney; Colm Doherty, Fergal Waters; Cian McBride, Shane Walsh, Patrick Matthews; Aaron Lynch, Jordan Morris, Matthew Costello.

Subs: Barry O'Connell for McBride (BC), Dylan Keating for Waters, Michael Murphy for Bannon, Eoin Martin for Costello, Adam Ryan for Courtney, Jack O'Connor for Gavin.

Referee: Barry Tiernan (Dublin).


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete